For the latest updates on COVID-19 visit our Coronavirus Information page

Ocean Thunder Surf Boat Series

  • DATE

    07 Nov 2020 to 03 Apr 2021

  • TIME



    Dee Why Beach

    Dee Why NSW 2099

A summer series of high profile professional surf boat events, restricted to 24 Elite Open Men’s Crews and 12 Elite Women’s Crews racing off the beach, through the elements of the surf break and returning back for a beach run finish.

Surf boat rowing is a truly iconic Australian sport that has always been associated with Surf Life Saving. The Ocean Thunder Series event has provided a pathway for athletes aspiring to greatness and gives them the ability to compete against the best in surf boat rowing.

Ocean Thunder dates for the 2020/2021 Series

  • Saturday 7 November 2020 (Event Four 2019/20 Season)
  • Saturday 9 January 2021
  • Saturday 6 February 2021
  • Saturday 13 March 2021
  • Saturday 3 April 2021

Surf Life Saving Australia is the event naming rights sponsor, working with the Ocean Thunder Series to optimise the efficiency of the Series to ensure the event is available to all clubs around the country.

For more information on the Ocean Thunder Surf Boat Series please click here.


Please note this event is not run by SLSNSW.